Remembering Riverside Park

As I was taking my cousin to his football game last Saturday morning at Ridley Park and as I turned the corner to go through the gate, there were fastpitch softball games getting ready to start.  That brought back memories when we had tournaments at Riverside Park.  Now instead of using three fields, 2 softball and 1 baseball, they have 6.  This is good because it allows them to play 6 games at a time instead of three.  This probably helps them finish a lot earlier than we did. 

We would start around 8 or 9 a.m., sometimes earlier, wouldn’t finish until 12 or 1 a.m.  Those were long days but I enjoyed every minute.  Because the fields were so close together, except for the one across the street, everyone could watch the other teams play while watching the team their child or children were playing on.  Back then we had a packed house for every game, even the regular season games, because everyone stayed and watched the other teams play. 

Yes times are changing and everytime I drive through Riverside the memories return.  Everyone reading this and played at Riverside should know what I’m talking about.  I’m not saying that I approve or disapprove the riverwalk, but It Is What It Is.

If you played fastpitch at Riverside Park, I ask you to like this Post/Blog and let me know the name of the team you played on.

Thanks and Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

